08
Sep
08

It’s been a while

since I posted a knitting project pic, so here’s one.  I do knit a little in the summer, but I don’t get that intense smooshy yarn love until the temp drops to 65 or less.  That’s when the knitting and cooking pots of soup & chili take up a good bit of my time.

Mom (and my “baby” brother Chris, who’s almost 24, but will always always be my baby bro) get the credit for the idea, and I put the pattern together.  Mom found glow-in-the-dark yarn at Michaels (made by Bernat), and Chris thought it would be cool to have a hat with skulls that glow.  I thought that sounded pretty cool myself!

I can’t take credit for the skull motif either, I’ve used it a few times now for other projects, and that link is below with the pattern link.  Now that I think about it, I guess very little credit is owed to me on this hat pattern LOL!

So, this is the hat!  Reid looooooves it, didn’t take it off all day yesterday.img085-364x400

Here it is glowing.  It’s very hard to take a pic of glow-in-the-dark, so after tweaking it, this is the best I could do.img_1870

There is nothing in the world like making something for your kid and them enjoying so much, that is a trip to warm fuzzy land.  Reid must have been born with my love of yarn, because every single thing I have made him has been adored by him.

To my knitter friends, if you want the pattern, here it is.  Sorry it’s in my lousy handwriting.  The same pattern fits kids & adults, everyone in our house tried it on & it fit.  A few extra notes:  (1) i used the small skull pattern from this page http://supermitten.com/images/SkullCharts.gif. (2) ignore the empty spaces to the right of the skull pattern in the graph, don’t include those in the pattern.  just do one stitch between the widest parts of the pattern for the repeat, which are rows 2 & 6. (3) You CANNOT do the skull pattern section on the dpn’s.  It’s very hard to keep the tension correct while carrying yarn in the back of the work between two needles.  You will almost surely get a very tight pucker at the spot between needles.

The skull motif is so versatile, here are a couple other projects I have done with it:

pa272795

pa222760

img_1868

2 Responses to “It’s been a while”


  1. September 8, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Oooh! Very cool Mel! I didn’t know they made glow in the dark yarn!

  2. October 15, 2008 at 9:12 am

    I’m diggin that cap. Can you make one with Mr. T instead of skull & crossbones? I would so buy that from you.


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


