22
Aug
08

The drowning of fruitflies

So a few days ago, it seems that in the box of nectarines we bought from Costco had a huge colony of fruitflies in it.  They have been driving us NUTS.  I got all clever this morning & made a contraption that may be useful to others, so thought I would share.

I cut the top of a plastic water bottle off (like at the spot where it’s the full diameter of the bottle.  I poured pineapple juice into the bottom part of the bottle.  I figured that would work best since it has a strong fruity scent.  Then I put the top inside the bottom part inverted.  Now when the little buttheads go into the bottle to get at the juice, they go down into the small hole and then have a hard time getting back out & eventually drown.  Cruel, I know.

Here are pics to demonstrate, but if dead bugs disturb you, look away. 😉 You can vaguely see them floating around in there, right now there’s probably 15 of them.

See?  I don’t always post completely useless stuff.

3 Responses to “The drowning of fruitflies”


  1. August 25, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I spent all of last summer/fall trying to get rid of these stupid bugs! Red wine works really well too! Steve was a little disturbed by how giddy I got when I noticed a whole group of them had drowned 😛

  2. 2 Debbie
    August 26, 2008 at 6:57 am

    If I have a problem with fruitflies, I know what I’ll try. 😉

  3. August 30, 2008 at 11:38 am

    You should patent that! WTG!


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


