12
Aug
08

A couple new ones, just for Melzer

(For those of you who don’t know Melzer’s boy Cameron, they are peas in a pod and we enjoy their similar -isms.  They should go bowling together or something.)

Today in the car, Reid said that on Halloween he was going to wear his Spiderman costume that he already has.  Then he pops off with this ridiculous run-on sentence:  “After I put my costume on I’m going to have you drive me to the hospital and have the doctor cut my fingers off and put web shooters in them and then he will put my fingers back on and I will shoot webs at people on Halloween.”  Once I explained that (a) it was impossible and (b) it would hurt, he decided against it.

Yesterday was his kindergarten checkup, he did great with the five shots and is in the 90th percentile for height & 85th for weight.  They estimate he will be about 6’1″.  Shocking, with Scott being 6’4″ and all.  Both of my kids are going to look down on me like the Jolly Green Giant does to Sprout.  But hey, I will have lots of people to help me get things from high shelves.

So, back to topic, he had a pretty funny one at the doctor as well.  She was going through scenarios to be sure he understood what kinds of things are dangerous.  The first one was something like, “Pretend I’m one of your school friends and I tell you that I know where my Daddy keeps his guns.  What would you say if I asked if you want to get them out & play with them?”  The other one was, “What if I had some matches and asked if you wanted to play with fire?”  OMG, the kid answered a solid but nervous “sure!” to both of those questions.  Like he knew it was wrong, but since the doctor asked him that he should go along with it since she’s an authority figure or something.  I honestly think he was taking it as the doc asking him to do them LOL.  Thanks a lot, buddy, for giving me the last bit of oomph I needed for my Mother of the Year award.

Oh and he found it weird but funny to pee in a cup, but the big kicker to him was that I gave it to the nurse.  He thought I had lost my gourd.

3 Responses to “A couple new ones, just for Melzer”


  1. 1 Genevieve
    August 12, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    How horrifying! I’ve never gone over those types of questions with my kids! Ack!

  2. 2 Mom
    August 13, 2008 at 11:15 am

    LMAO! Now there’s a name for his rock band when he gets older…Guns N Matches!

  3. August 30, 2008 at 11:36 am

    omg! Awesome. I’m just realized I’m not getting email updates when you update your blog anymore, so I’m glad I came to visit!! The spiderman thing is just hilarious. And Guns N Matches…perfect. 😉


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


