20
Jun
08

My idea of a touching story

So on June 9, I flipped on the TV and it happened to be tuned to the Reds/Marlins game. The pitch was mid-flight to Ken Griffey, and literally in a second, I saw him make history with his 600th career home run. For those of you who aren’t baseball fans, he is one of six players in history to do this, so it’s a HUUUUUGE deal.

Anyway, I thought that was really cool to turn the TV on just as history was being made, and a few days later mentioned it to my dad on the phone. He said something like, “Whoa, that just brought back a memory!” Get this: When I was about 2 months old (actually just a few days shy of it), we arrived home from going somewhere and my dad carried me into the house. He flipped on the TV, sat down in the chair with me in his arms just as Hank Aaron was hitting #715!

So, knowingly or not, I’ve seen two of the greatest baseball moments in history, from two of the most stand-up guys in the game. That’s just wicked cool!

2 Responses to “My idea of a touching story”


  1. 1 Melzer
    June 21, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Very cool! And Griffey did with without the ‘roids…

  2. 2 Melanie Harrison
    June 22, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Without a doubt! Same with Aaron, was a non-juicer in the heyday. Both of them are the real deal.


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


