10
Jan
08

Blog Randomizer

So many silly & not so silly things to talk about, so I will just do them in random bulleted form.

* I’m happier & more content with myself than I have been in recent memory. Since being diagnosed as bipolar and getting on the right meds, life is so much easier & more enjoyable. 🙂

*My marriage is in a better state than it has been in a couple years, most likely due to the above. We had some rough times, but it’s so awesome to see them in the rear-view mirror.

* I’m trying to lose weight again. Shocking, I know. You can keep up with that here if you so desire.

* I am counting the days until opening day (March 31).

* I can’t believe in 3 days I will have a kid that’s 12 years old. And how smart & pretty she is. And how absolutely cuckoo nutterballs she drives me most of the time. 😛

* I don’t hate exercising so much anymore.

* When you have a sick kid, it makes your heart hurt. Also you learn how little sleep you can survive on.

* People that really like you don’t care what your house looks like when you host Christmas, and I think that’s cool.

* I cried for half a day when Jim Edmonds got traded.

* When you drink lots of water, you don’t miss soda.

* If I did one big important thing in ’07, it was becoming vastly more aware of the environment. I can’t think of many things that make me feel prouder of myself. I’m addicted to it – recycling, using cloth grocery bags, using eco-friendly products, etc. I wish I had realized how undeniably important it was so many years ago. I think cloth diapering Reid was what got me to think differently, but it took a while before I went on it full force. To think of how much I have put in a landfill or down my drain in the past honestly and truly upsets me. It’s so easy and so rewarding.

* I have to stop calling Reid “Baby.” Hard habit to break, since he loves being called the baby.

* It’s amazing what a role model you are to your kids. The day I started eating healthier & exercising, Emma did too. If that isn’t motivation, I don’t know what is.

* Both of my kids are awesome at Guitar Hero. Emma easily rocks out on medium, and this is the result of Reid on easy (remember he’s 4):

* This is hilarious (from a package of headphones at Big Lots):

* This was the biggest ripoff I have ever experienced. It’s a Christmas countdown thing where you open a door and get a (nasty) piece of chocolate for each day before Christmas. Granted I only paid two bucks for it, but my kid was expecting a big piece of (nasty) chocolate on Christmas Eve:

The grand finale was behind a larger door as seen here, and we were bursting with excitement to see what was behind it. A whole month we waited for this:

And cue the let-down:

A-freaking-nother little piece of (nasty) chocolate with a big door over it. Corporate corner-cutting doesn’t get much worse than this, folks. Curse you, CandyTech!

* And I can’t seem to have a blog entry without a Reid-ism these days, and this is no exception. My family already knows this one, so they can just ignore it… Reid wanted his best friend Ana to come over to play one particular day during Christmas break. We told him we couldn’t do that because we had to go to my grandma’s to open presents. His reply was “Well that’s going to be disappointing.” Even at the age of 4 he knows she gives the most…uh…interesting gifts. We’ve had some doozies over the years. In her defense, she did great this year.

* I have bought enough books lately to last me 3 years, to the point where I can’t pick which one to read. I have started on the book my awesome pal Julie got me, Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal and read a chapter almost every night before I go to sleep. It’s hilarious so far.

And I think I’ll leave it at this for now, but I’m sure I forgot something. But I’m sure you won’t miss it. Happy ’08 to my reader(s)!

2 Responses to “Blog Randomizer”


  1. 1 Jenny
    January 11, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    I am so happy that you are feeling so good!

  2. January 14, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Why is He-Man showing how to use headphones?


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


