15
Feb
07

Wee baby things

It’s been a while since I’ve done any baby things, but this week has definitely been all about them!

My current project is for our friends/neighbors who just had their first baby (who is quite possibly the most beautiful newborn I’ve laid eyes on besides my own babies). I know it’s such an average thing to make a baby blanket, but I’m hoping that this one will become a keepsake as well. It just has that “lovey” feel and look to it, at least in my opinion. I was inspired by a ball of plain old variegated cotton that I already had, and honestly wasn’t sure if it would be soft enough for a baby. But it really feels wonderful knitted up! I found a pattern for blocks with FEET on them, OMG are they cuuuuute and I couldn’t resist. They are definitely hard to take pics of, and are more prominent IRL. The toes are freaking BOBBLES, which normally I find quite hideous, but this is just the perfect occasion for them I think!

You may need to click on the pic to get the larger view to see the foot pattern better:
070214_030.jpg

And I made a pair of socks for my nephew to go along with the outfit I bought him for his first birthday. Oddly enough, the first pair of baby socks I’ve made with sock yarn. Was really fun to have a pair of socks knit up so fast. A warning to all babies, you may just have a pair of socks forced upon you by Auntie Dorf. šŸ˜‰
070214_022.jpg

1 Response to “Wee baby things”


  1. 1 Genevieve
    March 31, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    oh my gosh! Look at those TOES! So cute, Mel!!


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


