27
Jul
06

(Not) Just a torso

This is for Jen, to show her the torso of our first doll in the series of many. πŸ˜‰ I’ve just started the decreases for the neck area.
060727_001.jpg

Update:

Here’s the doll, fully knitted. Now have to wait for my wool felt to come in to give her a face. I’ll do her hair & make some clothes while we wait.

060728_007.jpg

I wouldn’t have been done as fast if it weren’t for this nifty item:
knitmach.jpg
It only works for small yarns, and when I ordered it, thought of it as a cheater’s way to make an i-cord. Most everyone knows of my hatred for i-cord, and as many dolls as I’m going to be making, there’s no way I’d ever finish them. I’d have a basket full of head/torso figures with no arms & legs, which really isn’t much fun.

Anyway…there is definitely a learning curve to using this gadget, and you have to understand knitting to make it work properly. Especially when you’re working with two strands of loosely twisted fingering yarn. It’s not like you just shove yarn in it & turn the crank. So although it makes it speedier to pump out the arms & legs, it does require knowledge & skill, so I don’t feel so bad about using it anymore. πŸ˜‰

1 Response to “(Not) Just a torso”


  1. 1 Jen
    February 14, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    SOO AWESOME!! You are so fast its crazy!! i love her already!!!


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


