07
Oct
05

Our ride with a big dog (with an update)

Yesterday when I was on the way to the grocery store, this HUGE yellow lab jumped in front of my car and was frantically running around on the road. He was going to get hit for sure if someone didn’t get him off the road, so I decided to be that someone. I stopped the car, waved the people behind me to go around, and opened the door. He immediately flopped his huge head in my lap, wanting to be pet. I checked his collar for tags, but he had none. So I opened up the back of the car and he hopped right in like he’d done it many times before. He jumped over the seat, licked Reid’s face and then stuck his head out the window for the duration of the ride. Reid thought it was hysterical having that big “uppy” riding back there with him! 🙂

So, we took him to the city animal shelter, but everyone there was out on calls. So I called city hall and told them what was up, and that I was going to put him in one of the outdoor kennels and leave a note. He did NOT want to get in that kennel, even with bribery of Reid’s french fries. I finally had to just push his butt until he couldn’t keep traction anymore, but even with me forcing him, he never as much as gave me a dirty look. He was a total teddy bear, just your typical sweet lab. I wrote the note & left it, and he cried for me to let him out. 😦

But it felt really good to take a few minutes to help out that big sweet dog, I think it did me as much good as it did him. 🙂 I called this morning to find out how he was doing, and they said he was doing great but nobody has claimed him yet. I hope his family finds him again or he gets adopted by someone nice.

*** UPDATE *** One of the animal control officers knew who the dog belonged to, what his name was, and where he lived, and is now with his family. 🙂

1 Response to “Our ride with a big dog (with an update)”


  1. 1 MOM
    October 8, 2005 at 4:17 pm

    Awwwww poor puppy! So have his owners claimed him yet? If we had been the ones to find him, he’d have ended up staying here…LOL! For those who don’t know me, we have become ‘owned’ by 2 dogs and 3 cats that were all strays/throwaways.


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


