25
May
05

No wonder I hate summer

I hate summer with a passion. All it reminds me of is never seeing my husband because he works so damn much, and basically functioning as a single mother. It gets old so quick. Here it is, the last day of school for Emma, and I’m already dreading the next few months.

Emma had a half day, and literally as soon as she walked in the door, called her cousin. She said that my sister invited her to come over to play, and I reluctantly told her yes. I was kind of ticked because my sister asked Emma instead of me, and wished she would have realized that I may want to be with my kid today. Well, talked to my sister on the phone a while ago, and realized that Emma asked if she could come over, not the other way around. So now my anger is transferred to the little liar that went to have fun. Oh, but it won’t be fun when she gets home, I can assure you. I am so sick of Emma flippantly lying to me all the time, about everything. I’m sure it’s just her age, but I am going to put a stop to it, if it’s the last thing I do.

I told her that this is the summer of FAMILY, not just EMMA. Her goal is to see how many places she can be besides home, and that isn’t happening this year. This is our last couple months in this house, and maybe I am the only one who gives a rat’s ass about it, but I want us all to be together. Plus, I’m going to need her help since Scott will be nothing but a ghost around here.

A month ago, I was all stoked to work on getting my driver’s license again, but now I couldn’t care less. There’s nothing I would want to do anyway. I’m kind of weird that way, things that other people consider to be “fun,” I don’t at all. Like my sister & her dh got a new boat this year, and want us to go for a weekend with them. OMG, I would rather scrub my toilet with a toothbrush than have to sit on a freaking lake for three days. I *hate* stuff like that, along with swimming, camping, vacationing, etc. It’s just a waste of time to me and isn’t fun in the least. Fun to me is having time alone to knit, or work on my websites, or get something accomplished around the house without interruption. Geez, I’m boring.

Ack, I must be over emotional today, because I could just sit down & cry over all this. Summer just sucks. 😦

1 Response to “No wonder I hate summer”


  1. 1 ~Julie~
    May 25, 2005 at 10:57 pm

    I am so sorry, Mel 😦 Your entry sounds so sad. I wish there was something I could do to help.


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


