08
Apr
05

A moment of silence, please

Friends, we are gathered here to say goodbye to my eyebrow piercing. Over the past month it has grown increasingly angry, to the point of red hot fury. Once I got sick and couldn’t get over it for nearly 4 weeks, I guess my immune system decided that it did not want that metal in my eyebrow anymore. šŸ˜¦ Even after cleaning it lovingly every day to keep it happy, I resolved today that it had to come out. I am sad to have to take it out, I really really really loved it. But I wouldn’t love having it come all the way through the surface and leave a gaping wound and a nasty scar. So, maybe if I miss it bad enough, I will have my other brow done and alternate them or something. And it was such a happy piercing for the first 5 months of its life. *sigh*

On a much lighter note…

We had the most awesome meeting with the builder last night! First off, they are really awesome people, willing to consider anything we throw at them and not trying to con us into things we don’t want. I like them way better than the real estate agents they have running the sales office, and I’m really glad that everything from here on out goes through the builder. We all sat around talking and laughing like we had known each other for years, and had a blast playing with the CAD system. It was so cool to see how the changes we wanted to make affected the plan, rather than them just being drawn in by me. They gave us a few other neat ideas that we will be doing, like doing deeper cabinets above the fridge and doing a fridge sidewall thing so it looks more built-in, etc.

Also, the sales agents had overcharged us for a few options, so the builder is throwing in a few things for free to make up for it…WOOT! We will be getting an extra window in the master bedroom, the front porch will be 2 feet deeper, a free kitchen sink upgrade, and some extra woodwork. There may be more, but it’s all I can think of right now.

I know it’s their job to schmooze, but I really feel these guys are genuine and honestly want you to get the house that you want. Not many people are customizing to the extent we are, and they said it was lots of fun to do something different. We had so many changes that even after 3 hours of putzing with the plan, we still have to do another meeting. Which is OK with me because it’s fun playing with the computers and dreaming about our house-to-be. šŸ˜€

It will be nice to be actually living in this house instead of daydreaming about it! I have such a flurry of ideas stuck in my head with nowhere to release them. I love starting with a clean slate and finally being able to do apply some of the off-the-wall ideas I’ve had stored for so long. I very much love the house we are in now, but it’s just not conducive to being an eclectic/eccentric style house. It’s such a mish-mash of my varying styles, since we’ve been remodeling it since ’96. I’ve gone through my “dripping with floral” phase (ew ew ew), my “everything must be brown/beige” phase, my “rustic with a twist” phase, and am now kind of in a “simplistic with odd crazy stuff thrown in phase.” It’s fun!

Well, Scott is back with my lunch, so that’s my priority!

3 Responses to “A moment of silence, please”


  1. 1 Genevieve
    April 10, 2005 at 9:58 am

    I’m so excited for you about the house, Mel!! How fun to be able to build it from the ground up!!

    Sorry about your eyebrow piercing. šŸ˜¦

  2. 2 Christina
    April 11, 2005 at 9:15 am

    I feel your pain Mel! I still morn the death of my tongue ring and it’s been almost three years šŸ˜‰
    How cool that the builders are giving you that free stuff!

  3. 3 -erin
    April 11, 2005 at 9:18 am

    sorry about your eyebrow!!! My belly button and I have our moments, so I can imagine your pain, and sadness in letting it go.
    I’m glad you’re working with such great builders! It sounds like you are haivng a great time, I can’t wait to see your house take shape!


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


