28
Feb
05

Nothing else better to do

I am SO SICK with a head cold, it’s driving me insane! As long as I can remember, when I get a cough, they are so wicked bad. I will cough for hours on end until every muscle in my body is sore and it feels like my asshole is going to turn inside out (nice visual, eh?). Then eventually it will make me puke. Ah, good times.

So, here I sit all alone in a quiet house, sick as a dog. Scott is working at my brother’s place, and Emma’s in bed. Reid is starting to get my cold and Scott got him to bed really early tonight. Poor sweet baby, I hope he doesn’t get this as bad as I have it.

Normally I would soooo be loving this quiet time, but actually I am bored stiff. Mainly because I have absolutely no energy left to expend, not even to knit or something. But I have caught up on my trashy court shows I have Tivo’d, but not sure if that counts as an accomplishment. I have played Text Twist until I’m jumbling words in my head. Nobody is online to chat with at the moment, and the board is totally dead. I know if I went to bed that I’d just lie there and not be able to sleep. Sigh.

We are close to doing the big contract negotiation on our new house. I am really going to try to talk them down about $5k now that we have all the nitpicky details ironed out and know where we stand on all that. We wanted to find out the EXACT price of the house done the way we want it before telling them that we want them to knock a chunk right off the top. All I’m waiting on is for them to get back to me on how much it would cost to upgrade the baseboard trim to the 6″ tall stuff. I thought he would call me back on that this afternoon, and despite my leaving him a voice mail, he didn’t. Maybe the builder hasn’t called him back yet.

Reid has been a DREAM to get to sleep lately, it’s been so wonderful. He always hated his crib, so one day I tried converting the crib to a toddler bed with a bed rail so he couldn’t roll out. The only thing is that I had to sit next to his bed until he fell asleep, which generally took an hour. Well, that went wonderfully for a few months until he created the annoying game of “try to get out of my bed a million times.” OMG, it was so bad and seriously frustrating. So, I converted the bed back to a crib. The first day I did sit in his room with him until he fell asleep so it was more of what he was used to. But boy did it piss him off to be caged in again LOL! But now we just plop him in his bed, turn a 30-minute video on (yes I’m a bad mom who has a TV in my toddler’s room), say “night-night” and leave the room. This is the first time in his whole life that he has gone to sleep totally on his own and it’s awesome beyond words!

Well, I think I’m going to attempt to get some sleep now. I bet I have broke a world record for the lamest blog entry. 😛

Cough!
-Dorf

4 Responses to “Nothing else better to do”


  1. 1 Genevieve
    March 1, 2005 at 12:11 am

    I’m sorry you’re feeling so crappy, Mel! I hope it passes by soon! Glad to hear Reid is getting to sleep easier. 😀 YAY!

  2. 2 Shannon
    March 1, 2005 at 9:05 am

    I’m so glad that Reid is sleeping better for you! He is a sweetie! I hope you feel better very soon!

  3. 3 Katy
    March 1, 2005 at 1:03 pm

    Great news about Reid getting better sleep. I know that takes a huge weight off your shoulders.

    Feel better soon! Colds are no fun!

  4. 4 Lisa
    March 1, 2005 at 8:33 pm

    I hope you are feeling better soon!!!


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


