18
Feb
05

How we’re doing

Emma took the news really hard, but as good as can be expected. I did my best to break the news to her as gently as possible. We have our sad moments, but all in all we are doing alright. I am so glad that I just came out and told Emma the truth instead of making up some kind of lame story. I even said something to her about how hard it was to tell her and how I didn’t want to do it. She said “Mom, you had to tell me. I wouldn’t have wanted to find out some other way what happened.” I sure do have a good kid. Initially she didn’t want to know exactly what happened to Cos, and I told her that was fine and she could ask me anytime (or never) if she wanted to know. A few hours later she did ask me and said that is kind of what she figured.

It’s so weird to not have Cos around. šŸ˜¦ I miss him so much, and quite a few times during the day I have that “something’s not right” feeling and then it hits me why. I haven’t been able to bring myself to put away his things yet. I like to see the pattern he made in his food from eating it, crazy I know. I think that I’m just clinging to whatever there is left of him.

We were so lucky to have two awesome cats to come into our lives, but something happened to both of them. As much as I adore cats, I will probably be quite gunshy of getting another for quite some time. Both of them were outdoorsy cats and I wish I knew how to be sure the next time that we get one that absolutely hates being outside. I prefer to adopt from the Humane Society, but you never know their history and many of them could have been born outside.

Anyway, I’m just rambling, and now Reid has closed himself in the bathroom so that’s my cue to go. šŸ˜›

1 Response to “How we’re doing”


  1. 1 Genevieve
    February 20, 2005 at 1:00 pm

    I’m so sorry about Cosmo, Mel. I hope Emma is doing a little better! ((HUGS))


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


