14
Feb
05

Gebba is like EF Hutton…

when she talks, I listen! πŸ˜‰ I said I needed a shower, she told me to go do it, so I did. She said I needed to update my blog, and here I am!

Let’s see, what’s been going on? In most recent history, about ten minutes ago, I finished a very long book (the top one on my reading list in the sidebar). Ended up being really good and glad I picked it up when I couldn’t find anything else to read! But now I am SO looking forward to reading Dry by Augusten Burroughs and then will have to decide if I’m going to dive into my Harry Potter boxed set or read the two Sedaris books in waiting.

But there are way more exciting things happening in our life! We are almost 100% positive that we are about to start building our new house! We found a great subdivision just a few minutes from where we are now, and the builder uses the sam plan that we wanted originally when we were looking at the piece of land we almost bought. Man, am I glad that didn’t end up panning out for us, just shows you that if you follow your gut instinct it will usually lead you in the right direction.

So, more about this house thing…we found a lot that we loved at the edge of a cul-de-sac and at the moment there is only one house on the street. We didn’t go for one of the lots actually inside the cul-de-sac because we wanted a rectangular lot rather than a pie-shaped one. So, Emma will be able to ride her bike in the circle but still be where I can see her at all times. This is a really nice sized lot that backs up to woods. There is a little pond across the street that I know once the road is more developed, they will fix up real cute. πŸ™‚ Also, it is at the very back end of the subdivision and has more of a secluded feel to it. And it’s even in the same school district that Emma is in now!

We put a deposit down to hold the lot on Sunday, and have a week to back out and get our deposit back. But I sooooo don’t want to do that! πŸ˜‰ If you want to see pics & info about the lot and house plan, go here http://www.emmareid.com/gallery/view_album.php?set_albumName=newhouse. I will warn you that if we do indeed go through with all this, I will be talking about it in excess. πŸ˜›

The kids are doing great! πŸ™‚ We are enjoying the occasional spring-like days by taking walks and playing outside as much as we can. I shouldn’t complain, as we’ve had a really light winter, but I seriously hate cold weather. I am so looking forward to spring!

Reid is swiftly becoming your basic rambunctious boy. Always on the go, always wanting to be entertained, always getting into something that makes noise and a mess. πŸ˜› He’s an absolute joy, and I found myself tearing up the other night when Scott was talking about what a great decision it was to have him. He is such a blessing to our family!

Emma’s emotional roller coaster continues, but we are on a good streak right now. She has replaced her nasty attitude with being super lovey. πŸ™‚ It’s nice, she’s always wanting hugs and is even wanting to sit in our laps (which is like an adult sitting on you LOL) lately! I hope this trend stays around as long as the horrible ‘tude did, we could all use the break.

I just had my 31st birthday on Friday, and had such an awesome weekend! Thursday we went to Costco and Scott bought a Dyson vacuum for my bday/valentine combo gift. I am in LOVE with this thing, it rocks more than you could ever imagine a vacuum could. Friday , the actual day of my birthday, Scott took off work, which in itself was a wonderful “gift.” That evening, my dad & stepmom watched the kids and we went to The Melting Pot with my brother and his girlfriend. It was delicious and so much fun! Now I want a fondue set! πŸ˜‰ Saturday we went looking in subdivisions and found the one we fell in love with. Sunday morning, went back to the subdivision office and put the deposit down. Then we met up with my friend Lisa, her DH Ted, and their adorable daughter Lydia. We shopped at the Mills for a few hours and then had dinner together. It was such an awesome weekend, and I felt like an absolute queen!

Well, here it is nearly 10:30 and I’ve hardly eaten a bite all day and am starving!

TTFN!
-Dorf

1 Response to “Gebba is like EF Hutton…”


  1. 1 Genevieve
    February 16, 2005 at 4:08 pm

    Hahahaha! Wow, I feel so Important! πŸ™‚ This is really strange, actually, because for the last several days, every time I go to your blog, it only has “Reid and the Animals”… odd. Glad to hear an update on everything. Good luck with the house!!


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


