22
Jan
05

Didja miss me?

Yeah, it’s been a while. I had just started to miss blogging when a bunch of my online friends got heavy into it and motivated me further to start back up again. It’s good to be back! 🙂

So, what have I been up to the months since my last entry? Nothing very exciting, just the same old grind. I once again went off my diet, have read a ton of books, knitted a lot, changed lots of diapers, etc etc etc.

The kids are doing great, and I’ll even start using their real names from now on. 😛 Emma’s doing awesome in school as always, but at home has been seriously hormonal. She’s gained weight and is having headaches a few days a week. I know the women reading this know what is probably to follow sometime soon…”the curse.” She is still lots of help to me and is generally a good kid, albeit quite moody. She can cry at the drop of a hat, for no good reason really. I am so glad I didn’t have two girls, I’m just not someone who can deal with very much of this feminine crap. I feel like the negativity between she and I is lifting though. We have our moments, but they seem to pass faster. I think we have a better understanding of each other. I’m sure this is just a small taste of the many ebbs and flows that will plague our relationship as mom & daughter and that I better get used to it!

Reid is a character, and the cutest thing on feet. He is so funny and full of personality, this is an awesome age. He has been completely weaned for about a month now, is sleeping in his own bed both naps and at night and sleeps all night most of the time. It’s absolute heaven. His shyness has subsided and he is now happy to be babysat by people he sees on a regular basis. He actually is really outgoing anymore, and loves showing off and chattering at most anyone he meets. He is all rough & tumbly boy, running around like a maniac, bonking his head on everything without as much of a whimper of pain. Reid’s been slow to talk much, but has had quite the explosion of words the last couple weeks. He is imitating many of the words we say (which makes me have to stifle my favorite expletives), and is able to communicate with us so much better now. He loves going bye-bye and taking walks and this winter has been a challenge keeping him occupied. I’ll be so glad when spring arrives so he can run around like a madman outside, although I may have to put him on a leash. 😛 I envision being able to sit in a lawn chair reading a book and sipping a drink, and just looking up through my sunglasses on occasion to be sure he’s where he should be. But we all know that is only a figment of my imagination, I will be chasing him like a monkey on crack.

Well, I’m going to leave it at this and try to carry on as if I never left from here on out. 🙂

Does this smell weird?

-Dorf

4 Responses to “Didja miss me?”


  1. 1 caroline429
    January 23, 2005 at 3:07 pm

    WOOHOO!! Your back to bloggin’ it!! I feel so bad for Emma. That must be really confusing and frustrating for her!! (I KNOW it is for YOU!) I am sure you two have some rough patches ahead, as Moms and daughters often do, but I bet you’ll be back to buddies when her hormones find a home…. around age 25 or so.. heehee

    Reid certainly IS the coolest thing on two feet (or one of, at least).. I love that little guy!! His sense of humor is really growing.. It truely is amazing to watch them become they people they will be..

    Looking forward to reading your blog again……

    And by the way, you smell that, too?

  2. 2 ~Julie~
    January 23, 2005 at 4:26 pm

    You are blogging again!!! Now I can properly stalk you.
    Poor Emma and poor you. I am not looking forward to the hormones kicking in. In about 35 years when Olivia’s hormones kick in, I am going to have to ask you for advice. (I am being optimistic about the time frame…)
    Well, I look forward to reading more in the future 🙂

  3. 3 Claralee
    January 24, 2005 at 9:29 am

    welcome back to Blogville Mel! Glad you got your muse on!! Looking forward to more entries.

  4. 4 Shannon
    January 24, 2005 at 12:33 pm

    Wahoo, a new person to stalk. Eeek the hormonal onset of puberty. As I told you one day in chat, with my niece, same thing, the crying the door slamming, ugh. She is 16 and it continues still. We are here for you during this lovely time 😀 Reid sounds like a total sweetie!


Leave a Reply

Archives

categories


